The $275 Wedding Dress

17 Jul

As I’ve mentioned, I really like vintage things. I’m also not a fan of the mass-marketed “ideal” sense of a wedding dress. “Cheaper” wedding dresses (at the bridal chain stores) are made of fabric that feels, well, like an Halloween costume or a prom dress; these still run in the $500-600 range or even higher. No, thanks.

I’ve been lurking around the vintage clothing sites for a while, lusting after an array of New Look party dresses that I could never justify buying. Then, the idea struck me – I’ll buy a vintage wedding dress in the same style. My lurking shifted to slightly more active searching, and I kept Ebay on the list. For weeks, months…nothing…then one day, there is was – posted just for me.

It’s vintage (1950s), New Look, simple, slightly off-white, and it has a special detail that doesn’t overwhelm. It’s even in my measurements. I bought it after texting a picture to my two best girls for an opinion (both VERY affirmative). It shipped today, so I hope I like it as much when I see it. If not, I’ll just relist and continue the quest. I’d like to be done with this part, though.

Doesn’t the back rock? Hooray for a dress!

Leave a Reply

